Default User Roles are a set of pre-determined permissions that can be assigned to Workgroups so Users share equal access privileges.
In Universal Type Server 7, default User Roles are no longer editable like in prior versions. Upon upgrade, default User Roles that have been altered are saved as new Custom Roles in UTS 7.
Affects all Universal Type Server 7 macOS and Windows upgrades
Any default roles that have been altered in version 6 are automatically upgraded as a custom role with an “_1” appended to the role name.
User and Workgroup memberships remains the same and permissions to UTS remain unaffected. Only the role names are modified.
These appended role names can easily be changed if desired.
Here is an example of what modified default roles look like with appended role names.